Everyone who has applied for registration of a vehicle and declaring it to be insured faces severe penalties if the vehicle is subsequently found to be uninsured. In case you are driving without insurance Shenandoah Virginia, DMV will suspend your driving license, registration certificates and license plates issued. All of these items will remain suspended unless the person does the following:
- Pay a statutory fee of $500
- Maintains the proof of financial responsibility for three years
- Pays a reinstatement fee
There are two groups of auto insurance the first one is called first party coverage and other is third party coverage. The first group covers you and your assets (medical costs, damage to your car, and contains the insurance firm’s duty to protect you in the incident that you are sued as the result of your operation of a vehicle, etc. Whether in your vehicle, or another vehicle involved in the mishap, third party insurance coverage is for your accountability to pay for damages caused to other individual .Your insurance coverage policy sets out the coverage and its omissions. In exchange for the sum of a premium, the insurance firm assures to offer reparation in the event of certain incidences.
Virginia law needs that all drivers have a method to pay for damages or property damage resultant from a car accident. You can content this financial accountability law by either:
- Purchasing car insurance.
- Paying Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles to drive uninsured.
Through the help of reporting from Shenandoah Virginia car insurance firms, the DMV can automatically track your car insurance status. If you are found to be driving without insurance in Shenandoah Virginia and you have not compensated the uninsured driver fee, you will face suspension of all of the following:
- Driver’s license.
- Vehicle registration.
- License plates
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Shenandoah Virginia
In case you failed to present the evidence of insurance when requested by the law enforcements you can face sever penalties. For driving without insurance you will be charged with Class 3 misdemeanor. Being charged with Class 3 misdemeanor in Shenandoah Virginia means that your driving license and vehicle registration rights will be suspended and you have to pay a fine of $500. In order to have back your driving license and vehicle registration rights, you are required to pay a fine of $500, buy auto insurance in Shenandoah Virginia, and ask your insurer to file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with the DMV for three years, as well as pay a $145 reinstatement fee. During the three-year time period, insurance firms cooperate with DMV by delivering notification if a policy is negated. This condition to keep evidence of insurance allows DMV to confirm that these vehicle holders uphold liability insurance on their listed vehicles.
If you have been charged with driving without a license in Shenandoah Virginia, hiring a qualified traffic defense attorney can save your time and money.