There are extreme charges and consequences that exist in Maryland for those found guilty of carnal knowledge of a child. In this article we will deal with these allegations and their consequences.
It is important to establish what carnal knowledge is. Simply put, it includes acts of a sexual nature, ranging from sexual intercourse to oral and other sexual activities that can be performed online or in social media forums. Maryland takes child safety extremely seriously, and our laws are designed to teach a lesson to those who commit these crimes, even if they have no intention of doing so.
These people are capable of exploiting and harming children in extremely harmful ways. If convicted of child abuse, they face up to 10 years in prison and a $250,000 fine. To combat predators and ensure the safety of Maryland’s children, the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (MDPSC) is implementing the Child Exploitation and Obscenity Act.
A person who is under the age of 18 and convicted on the charge of carnal knowledge faces up to 10 years in prison and a $250,000 fine if he or she serves a Class 4 felony. However, the decision on the level of the sentence depends very much on the age of the accused and his criminal past. It is also possible to reduce their charges and sentences if they are tried in juvenile court rather than adult court and if they face a more lenient sentence.
Instead, consider a Class 6 felony, which carries up to five years in prison and a $2,500 fine. 5 offenses and pay a $2,500 fine.
The third case in this situation is usually the simplest and most common in which both parties agree to claim to have had consensual sex or sexual interaction and take full responsibility for their actions. This is classified as a Class 4 misdemeanor and requires a small fine of $250. There are many factors and layers that determine the severity and punishment of this crime, including whether or not the two individuals were minors or adults at the time of the crime. Nor is the age of the offender three or more years older than that of the minor. If the accused is found guilty of a crime or misdemeanor, he must serve the prison sentence imposed and pay a hefty fine. However, this does not mean that those found responsible for the abuse will not be punished.